Need Help?
Call Us Phone: 573-796-3412
FAX: 573-796-8364
Visit Us

401 S Francis Street
California, MO 65018

map Need a map?

Office Hours

Monday - Friday
8am - 5pm

 

Like Us On Facebook!

Who May Request a Birth or Death Certificate?

  • Registrant (the person whose certificate is filed)
  • A member of the immediate family which includes those family members and in-laws in the direct line of descent:
    • Wife or Husband
    • Son or Daughter
    • Mother or Father
    • Brother or Sister
    • Grandmother or Grandfather
    • Grandchildren
    • Aunt or Uncle
    • Niece or Nephew
  • Guardian with appropriate guardianship papers
  • Foster Parents with appropriate custody papers
  • Step parent
  • Attorney acting on behalf of the person/family
  • Authorized agent of person or family
  • Others as demonstrated by a direct and tangible interest when information is needed for determination or protection of personal or property rights

Who may not receive a copy of birth certificates?

  • Cousins
  • Funeral Directors
  • Alleged father or mother
  • Genealogists
  • Friends

Birth & Death Certificates
(Vital Records)

vital recordsThe Moniteau County Health Center has access to Missouri Birth and Death records through the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services. Certified copies are available at the health center.
 
Certified birth certificates can be issued for persons born in Missouri since 1920. Certified death certificates can be issued for deaths occurring in Missouri since 1980.
 
Contact the legal department of the Missouri Department of Health Bureau of Vital Records for assistance to change a birth or death record.

Birth or death records 573-751-6378
Adding a father's name to a birth record 573-751-6378

To print an pdf application for a certified copy of a birth or death certificate click here.

Bring the completed application to the Moniteau County Health Center for a printed certified copy. The fees for a certified copy are:

Birth Records Death Records
$15 per record
$15 for each additional copy
$13 per record
$10 for each additional copy

How do I obtain a vital record from another state?

Births, deaths, marriages and divorces occurring in states other than Missouri must be obtained from the state where the event took place. More information about out-of-state birth, death, marriage or divorce certificates can be found on the National Center for Health Statistics web site,"Where to Write For Vital Records."